XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Jaguar XJ8 1999

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2012, 07:12 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Jaguar XJ8 1999

Hi all! New to all this and I have a head scratcher of a problem but for those that know what the problem is it might be an easy one I'm hoping!

My dad has a Jaguar XJ8 and loves this car! I'm an electronics engineer of 30 odd years and good at my job I like to think, I've also done a lot of auto electrical work, A lot!

The problem being my dads cars driver side window started acting strange not working or erratic at times then his central locking started acting strange! now not working at all!

It was taken to several "good" garages/mechanics and put through computers etc so we were told and no faults showed up! none of the garages/mechanics can solve the problem or know what it is and charged a hefty fee for that information!

I've decided to take it on and thanks to a post on this site I did find a problem!
When cranking the engine over that is now not starting but it is cranking the negative terminal battery terminal was heating up to the point where it would give you a bad burn if you held it!
At the battery - post connector, The battery's ok it was the heavy lead crimped clamp going to the chassis of the car was the problem!
going mad hot when engine cranking! now no problems with the windows! but the central locking wont work via the electronic keyfob and the engine wont start?

Questions...is the immobilizer kicked in?
does the keyfob need reset/reprogrammed and how?
PLEASE HELP! I want to sort this out for my dad!

And I'll just add that the battery when charged up and reconnected I noticed it was sparking a bit when I reconnected the battery as it was draining when it was going through its fits! the car is drawing 3 amps dropping to 1.2 amps after 1 second or so when the battery is first reconnected,

Last edited by steveinfrance; 09-30-2012 at 05:11 AM.
Old 09-30-2012, 04:34 AM