XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Leaky Transmission Cooler Line - Can't Drive! Help!

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2013, 01:45 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Leaky Transmission Cooler Line - Can't Drive! Help!

Hi all, sorry if this has been covered in previous posts but I am new to the navigation of the forums here (actually new to everything) and I searched but maybe didn't search the right way. Anyway, this problem has gotten me down. I have a leaking transmission cooler line and I just can't see exactly where it is so I can fix it or (remove it and replace it), but do I know for sure it's above the front axle. I had the car jacked up but I can't see the tube. It seems like it's blocked by everything. I thought it would a good idea to jack the engine up to enable me to possibly see the tube better but now I can't find the bottom nuts for the motor mounts. Has anyone had this particular leaky tube (perhaps many people have had the same problem and can advise). Really don't want to spend $800 with a technician fixing what is probably a simple problem. I have already was given ZF transmission fluid for this project and I have installed the aftermarket custom transmission dipstick someone gave me as a gift to check fluid level as this leak started small and has gotten faster.

Thanks for any help any of you can give me.

Old 05-12-2013, 04:13 PM
Received 8,179 Likes on 4,934 Posts

The most common cause that I've seen is the cooler line and one of the PAS hoses chaffing. The metal-to-rubber crimp connection rubs a hole in the gearbox cooler line and leaks.

I have repaired a line for a customer by cleaning the cooler line with solvent and placing a 3 inch section of large diameter fuel line over the leak. I sliced the hose lengthwise and coated the inside with RTV. I used hose clamps to hold the hose section in place and allowed to dry.

I told the customer that I would not guaranty it to hold up but it was worth a try as an inexpensive solution.