XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

LED bulb upgrade for interior and exterior lessons learned

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2020, 11:51 AM
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default LED bulb upgrade for interior and exterior lessons learned

This post is for anybody thinking of upgrading bulbs, especially interior, with LEDs.

When I bought my 2002 XJ8 it was in very good condition, but more than half of the interior bulbs had burned out and had not been replaced. I decided to replace the bulbs with LED bulbs primarily because they would not burn out and require me to replace them. I also replaced the exterior lights including the headlights. I am an electrical engineer and all-around tinkerer so much of this is a lot more work than many of you would care to do, but here is a summary of what I learned for anybody who might be considering a similar upgrade to LEDs.

You may want to stick with incandescent/halogen
For purists, you may want to do this anyway.
The stock bulbs draw about 10 times the power/current as LEDs. The interior LEDs are also generally brighter so if you do not replace them all there will be a noticeable difference in intensity.
Many of the Jaguar's circuits were designed to expect the higher current draw of incandescent bulbs and you will need to add additional components to get correct functionality,
  • Reverse and brake lights will need an additional high-wattage resistor in parallel or else the instrument cluster will flash a warning that your bulbs are burnt out. Similar problems with the turn signal lights blinking too fast. This is a common and well documented problem you can find information about on the internet.