XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Let's help this guy out

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2011, 09:35 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,261 Likes on 565 Posts
Default Let's help this guy out

I was perusing Craigslist and I came across this ad. I kinda feel sorry for the guy and I'd like to help him out. He just bought a 2000 XJ8 and he's selling if for a loss because of something that may be a simple fix.

Here's the "meat" of his CL ad:
I bought the car recently from greensboro from a dealer through an auction it was a repo at the dealership I drove The car to durham and while on the highway the check engine lights comes on it now rides ruff due to the check engine lights on and abs light on it sounds smooth when cranked but have to turn key several times to get it crunk im no mechanic but advance auto checked it and the codes are p1314 & p1000 and it said cylinder 8 misfire & bank 1 system burning too rich & also bank 2 whatever that means big mistake for me because im a college student with other priorities the car is located in the chapel/durham area parked it can be driven but not but so far but I would prefer it be towed to prevent future damage ill take $3500 to get it off my hand I have college funds so this was such a waste for me I cant afford maintenance I will also tow it to your location raleigh/durham/chapel hill areas if I get atleast around the asking price this will be a nice car for someone with mechanic knowledge and I know a couple hundred bucks will have this car priceless on the road I just dont have the time money and patience the car is expensive and worth alot even in fair condition so someone please come take it off my hands! thanks for any consideration
I emailed him to let him know I'll help him fix the problem. No... I'm not going to charge him.

Old 03-18-2011, 09:37 PM
Veteran Member
Received 483 Likes on 404 Posts

Well how can he fix the problem?

Old 03-18-2011, 09:38 PM
Veteran Member