XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Need some XJ advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2012, 10:42 PM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Need some XJ advice

Ok,

So I've been lusting after one of these cars since I was 10 years old, (I'm 27 now). Being bored one evening, I did search of XJ8/R's to see what was out there. I realized that 2001-2003 XJ's, at this point, are relativelly inexpensive and still in good condition with decent mileage. So I think I might take the pludge, by years end, if I can find the right car.

This is what I need to know from you guys, and gals.........Is buying an XJ financial suicide? Everyone has heard a Jaguar horror story, so I'm a little apprehensive. I'm well aware that maintanance and repair cost on one of these would be higher than a typical domestic, (my daily driver is a Saab, so i'm used to higher mainenance costs), but what exactly would I be looking at.

What are the maintenance intervals and typical costs?
Are there any know reliablitiy issue with this vintage of XJ?
When buying a pre-owned XJ, what should I look for or avoid?

I looked at a 2002 dark blue XJ8 with 65000 miles that was being sold for $8900, but the leather was grungy and worn.

Im going to look at a 2003 black XJR with 770000 next Saturday that is selling for $11,500 2003 Jaguar XJR - City Imports Inc Matthews, NC

I really would love to own one of these Jags, because its such a timeless design. Plus the fact that I'm in grad school means that it'll be years before I can buy brand new car for paying back student loans, LOL. With an XJ I'd always have a nice, classy ride that wouldn't be seen on every block.

Thanks in advance for any insight

Old 03-15-2012, 11:02 PM
Received 87 Likes on 71 Posts