XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Newb please help w/ coolant q.

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2010, 10:57 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Newb please help w/ coolant q.

hey guys im a newb here, just bought an 99 XJR. It has 101000, the other day my light came on for a few seconds, it said Low Coolant. I looked in the book, but its a random type of coolant, I called the dealer but they only sell it in 5 gallons. I looked around the forums but I seem to find a lot of contradicting advise. I looked in the coolant reservoir and it is low its like 3 inches from the cap ( its supposed to be filled up to the cap right)? What type of coolant do I need, has anyone else had a similar problem on this car?
Thanks for all your help.

Old 03-26-2010, 12:17 AM
Veteran member
Received 1,151 Likes on 753 Posts

You won't find a majority I'm afraid, except with the possibility that most will say 'don't mix' the types. If you don't know whats in it, have your system flushed, and you tell the guys what to put in it.

I don't know the Jaguar specification for the coolant...yes I do, it's

Seems to be a VIN split, but for giggles, I googled the WSS-M97B44-D and found Prestone's orange stuff, the extended life, meets or exceeds it. That is, in fact, what I put in my car.

Attached Thumbnails Newb please help w/ coolant q.-coolant.jpg  
Old 03-26-2010, 06:22 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,111 Likes on 932 Posts

The coolant change interval is 100k miles anyway. The Prestone orange stuff will mix just fine but why not just add water. It will not dilute the coolant enough to matter. Then flush and refill at your convenience . . . soon.

And, yes, slow leaks, coolant lights are common problems on these cars.

Old 03-26-2010, 08:08 AM
ud
Received 148 Likes on 75 Posts