XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Newbie intro with fuel pump/tank issues

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2022, 06:06 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie intro with fuel pump/tank issues

Just a start im new to foreign cars with a bit of training in 20th century american made vehicles. Got this vaden plas for a steal 2003 4.0. No manual . Couldnt get it to go faster than 25 mph first time i drove it. Shut it off and reshifted and it was a beautiful thing. Had some issues one being trannt i believe so ordered shop manual factory tech manual and owner or electric manual online and received a 250 manual on the radio. Never got response back from company. Let it sit a couple years and battery was dead so rechsrged it but could only get 6 volts. Thought maybe those crazy brits put something in system unheard of that only lets battery fully charge if its in vehicle so reinstalled and recharged iunfortunately i kind of forgot i was charging a battery and didnt remember until a few days later when i walked by it and smelled unistakeable odor of cooking hydrogen. Pulled the battery and tried deepceli had sitting around and nothing. So a couple years go by and i really would like to drive this beautiful car. Bought new battery and it would bately turn it over. Chraged it a few hors over and all the bells and whistles when i turned it to on. Cool.cranked it over. No fire. Too many projects going so another year passes. Decide i have to get that car running.charged battery . Crank it over . No start. Sign up for jag forum to try to learn a little about this gem. Holy moley. Separate fuse for everything and moltiple fuses for some. No fuse panels in any standard places so started reading forum messages. Finally found relays and fuses in trunk. Watched a dozen videos til i found one that identified fuel pump relay and fuse. Then found out fuel tank was in trunk behind back seat. Surprise surprise. Jumped relay . No fuel pump sound . Checked for power at connection. One