XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

newbie needs help

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2015, 04:08 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default newbie needs help

Hello everyone. I am a new owner of a 99 VDP 4.0 natural asperated. Well I think I really screwed up but we will see. So the car had a rough idle but ran well after about 900 RPMs accept once in a wile I would get a bump/misfire. Had a few codes P0171 P0300, P0307, P1316. P0332. Just a bit of back ground on me. I am a transmission builder and have great scanners. Way to many tools and access to some good info like Alldata and Identafix. So I pulled coils and found a split plug boot. Replaced that and cleared codes. Still idled rough but no more bump. Motor was nice and quite so I drove it for a couple weeks when one day on my way to work I heard pinging. Looked at the temp gaege and looked fine to me. Just barely over half. I had another 2 miles to go so I just went very easy. Big mistake!!!! When I pulled into the parking lot it shut off. There was steam coming from the hood. Let it cool and put some water in it and as soon as I did it ran on the ground. Found that one of the 2 hoses under the intake was split wide open. Pulled the intake and fixed it. Changed the oil and started the car. Now it sounds like I have a bad lifter!!! Its not a knock but a tap. Runs the same as it did but I know that tap cant be good. I know these motors have a lot of timing chain issues and am wondering if mabey when it got hot if it hurt a tensioner and maybe it was already bad which is why it runs rough at idle. Oh it has 141000 miles on it so its no spring chicken. But the rest of the car is in good shape. I would hate to have to put a motor in this car since the are not cheap. 2000$ for a used one and I am sure I would need to do some work to it before putting it in. Any suggestions would be great and thank you in advance.

Old 10-07-2015, 04:57 PM
Veteran Member
Received 413 Likes on 318 Posts

reefkeeper,