XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Newbie - Pre Purchase questions (x308 XJR)

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2018, 04:30 PM
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Newbie - Pre Purchase questions (x308 XJR)

Gents - newbie here, tentatively looking at x308 XJRs

I viewed a 98 XJR today and have a few questions i'm hoping the collective can answer:

1) Car had one key/fob only - are replacements available from Jag or elsewhere
2) Car supposedly had an engine replacement by Jaguar at 79k miles (now on 180k) - i understand the date forms the new engine number (YYMMDD HHMM) , but couldn't find it anywhere - does anyone have a pic of where i should be looking. I read about a silver/green tag but could not see it.

Could Jaguar confirm the replacement via the VIN?

Even if it hasn't been replaced, as long as its not drinking oil, should i still be worried?

2.1) - Cold start was fine - no rattle from tensioners. The PO said they'd been replaced but there are no bills to substantiate - is there a way of checking?

3) I've read about rusty wheels arches, sills and wings (minor in this case) i'm more concerned about the strut mount rust. The driver side (RHD) was as new, but the passenger side had seen some repair work. Is this likely to be the iceberg or is the repair acceptable?

Many thanks

Shirish

Old 05-27-2018, 10:09 AM

OK, so the car i was looking to buy has now been sold, however the questions still stand.

Can anyone assist with these please?

Thanks

Old 05-27-2018, 05:21 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,815 Likes on 1,330 Posts

Used fobs are on Ebay all day long, just be sure to get a matching model number (on the back), there are programming instructions on site.

For your other Q's, prompt the 2nd link in my sig after "how to fix it". There's a link to prompt on purchase "look for before you buy".

The following 2 users liked this post by Highhorse:
cornershop (05-28-2018), Don B (05-28-2018)
Old 05-27-2018, 05:32 PM
Received 260 Likes on 210 Posts