XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Noob here that needs help from you experts! PLS!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2009, 06:49 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob here that needs help from you experts! PLS!!

hello people,

Im new to the forum but I had my hand me down 2001 Vanden Plas V8 for a year now and Im loving it. Just a couple days back I noticed that whenever I turn off the car, 3 seconds later, the fan starts blowing. Now I was told that it's normal but why all of a sudden a couple days ago. I never experienced this with my car since I got it.

While I was driving today, I noticed after around 25 mins of driving, I can hear the fan sounding like its working harder than normal and my temp gauge almost reaching the red point but going up and down here and there.

Now I checked the coolant and it seems to be at the amount its suppose to be (lined up with the orange washer looking thing right)?

Im such a noob at this thats why im glad I found this board and asking you experienced in this department. I'm starting to educate myself so I can solve simple problems with the car. Thank you guys in advance!

Old 12-16-2009, 07:45 PM
Received 17 Likes on 13 Posts

Urgent that you replace the thermostat before you incur serious engine damage.
________

Last edited by Norri; 11-25-2012 at 11:39 AM. Reason: Link Removed
Old 12-16-2009, 09:52 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cool

Originally Posted by Markus
Urgent that you replace the thermostat before you incur serious engine damage.
X2 very much agree

Old 12-16-2009, 11:23 PM

thanks guys for your input. so you mean to tell me its just my thermostat malfunctioning? I mean my car seemed to struggle when it almost hit red on my gauge. so its nothing under the hood? does that make sense? sorry i feel dumb right now.

Old 12-17-2009, 10:49 AM
Veteran Member
Received 410 Likes on 305 Posts
Talking