XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Opinion on 1999 XJR

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2013, 01:47 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Opinion on 1999 XJR

Newbie here, seriously considering buying a 1999 XJR locally with only 86k miles. It's in the color I wanted, red with beige interior. Exterior is in very good condition except for a small 6" dent and scratch on bottom of passenger side door. Interior is also in very good shape with only a small tear on driver seat but the rest of the seats are in excellent condition. The only downside to interior is the headliner cloth is dropping in the rear, right above the rear seats.

As for the tensioners and nikasil, owner does not know of the pass history. He only had it for about a year and is the 3rd owner. The only service the current owner did was oil & filter, new battery, and fuel pump replacement. I got a carfax on it and 1st owner was lease for 3 years and 2nd owner had it the longest for 9 years. Only 2 service history for 1st owner with thermostat replacement, alignment, and regular maintenance. But the strange thing is with 2nd owner cause there is no service record on carfax except for only smog inspections and a single oil & filter change right before 2nd owner purchase. Is this something I should be concerned about?

Also, the front grille is chrome and is bothering me. Didn't all the XJRs come with color matched grille? Is this a sign of body damage to the front?

Owner is asking $7,900 but I got him down to $6,000.

Thanks,
David

Here are some pics of the XJR.

Sorry I couldn't find a pic of the dent but you can barely see it in this pic. It's right on bottom of passenger door, it's the small whitish spot right before the front tire in the pic.

Attached Thumbnails Opinion on 1999 XJR-3i13n93h75l65ef5fbd1389c060186b2a1d95.jpg   Opinion on 1999 XJR-3g23fd3nc5nd5i45ldd13b171e811194e17a5.jpg   Opinion on 1999 XJR-3kf3l43nc5id5lb5w1d13329e596e33bb1c58.jpg  
Old 01-14-2013, 04:18 AM
Veteran Member