XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Options for bolt-ons in 2024? Been searching this forum like mad.

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2024, 01:54 PM
MWC
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Talking Options for bolt-ons in 2024? Been searching this forum like mad.

I picked up a 99 XJR for about 1200 bucks about a month ago. I have been working on getting it back on the road since then. I have a lot of experience working on cars (built a race car with a full standalone ECU, wired the entire car, built the engine etc.) and so of course I can't leave anything alone. The plan is to make this Jag my daily, but one with a little extra sauce.

Like any good boy, I have been searching the ever living s&^% out of this forum and have learned a whole lot which is great! Unfortunately, some of the information I have found is now out of date (items no longer available). I would like to see if some others here can share some information regarding what's available in 2024 for bolt-ons etc.

So far I plan to do the following:
  1. Timing chain guides. My motor is an AJ26 (unfortunately) and so it's got the bad guides. This is already in process. Supercharger is out etc. and I will be pulling the timing cover tonight. I am going to take this opportunity to go through the entire car (send out the injectors, replace all of the gaskets, water pump, vacuum lines etc.
  2. Upgrade the SC to a Gen V. I ordered one on eBay for 300 bucks. I will port the TB elbow, charge coolers, intake plates, and anything else I can get to as much as possible. All you need is the 4.2 inlet gasket and a dremel. Done!
  3. Intercooler pump. I'm going to use the one from the Mercedes AMGs.
  4. Upgraded pulley's for even more boost. Probably go right for the 3lb.
  5. Larger throttle body.
  6. Superior intake tract.
Numbers 5 and 6 are where things get challenging: