XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Pleasr help! Timing chain job car wont start

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2016, 02:45 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Pleasr help! Timing chain job car wont start

Hello all I posted on here earlier got some help, but unfortunately none were able to point me in the right direction.

I did head gaskets, and timing chains, tensioners on my 1999 VDP with 94k Miles. everytbing went good, timed the car correctly with the flywheel locking nut, cam flats parallel with head, with locking bars, both!

Put it back together and the car wont start! It cranks and turns but wont start! I already burned out a starter trying, put in another, cranks, no start.

Had it towed over the weekend to a mechnic and he says the timing is off...please help. My mechanic experience is high, with these cars im still learning, but am confident I can tackle it if I get some advice!

Thank you!

-Zander

Old 11-06-2016, 03:05 PM
Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts

Hook it up to sdd/ids, see what codes it has.

Old 11-06-2016, 03:09 PM
Default I dont have any of that.

I have tools, and thats it. What does your gut say?

Old 11-06-2016, 03:21 PM
Received 2,675 Likes on 1,836 Posts

Does the engine have compression, fuel and spark?

Is the Crankshaft Position Sensor correctly installed?

Old 11-06-2016, 03:25 PM
Default :)

Compression was not there at first, I followed flooding procedure, and added oil drops down plug wells, took out fuel pump fuse, turned motor a few times got comp back up then added fuel fuse and it started..ran rlly rough for about 5 mins then stalled. this happened last week.

Spark, i havent tested for that yet. plugs were oil washed, put new plugs in..same thing..maybe coil packs? Does it sound like timing you anyone here?

Old 11-06-2016, 03:26 PM
Default Fuel ys