XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Potential new XJR owner

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2023, 01:12 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Potential new XJR owner

Hi all,

Jaguar Noob here, looking for guidance on possibly purchasing an x308 xjr for a resto project. I did a bit of reading and found out these has a Mercedes automatic transmission and I guess that's a good thing? Don't know about these cars, and if there is a good thread with this topic already covered, I would appreciate someone posting the link. All I've heard over the years is that these cars are constantly broken money pits, but after looking at one today a bit closer, I want to believe the opposite that these are quality built cars, that don't require much more maintenance that any old euro car, if the owner is on top of things. All input is appreciated. Here's a link to a video on my channel to the one I might pick up, but could pass and wait for one that needs less work:

Old 05-19-2023, 09:29 AM
Received 166 Likes on 111 Posts

Depending on prior ownership, it could be a money pit and it could be a great car. Kind of a roll of the dice, really, but there are youtube videos from people who can highlight some common issues to look for, like typical rust areas, engine issues, etc. The stick section of this forum has a really good "How To" with a good general pre-purchase inspection checklist you can go over as well.

Mercedes trans are generally more durable than the ones in the XJ8s, but its a good idea to service it if you don't know when it was last done.