XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Prospective XJR owner here

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2010, 08:06 PM
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Prospective XJR owner here

Hello everyone.

My name is Chris and I am new here.

Short story about me, I am a 20 y/o Rutgers student that's looking for a new car.

I had a 1994 W124 E320 Coupe that I bought for $10k with 76k miles back in 2006. It was my first car ever and it was my pride and joy, and dare I say my life. It meant the world to me. Then a huge puddle picked a fight with my W124 which was on tires needing replacement, I hydroplaned and my car lost the fight and was swung into a guard rail.

So, long story short. I'm still hung over it, but I owe my life to that car and Mercedes-Benz.

Here is the list of cars I am additionally considering.

Y34 03-04 Infiniti M45
Another W124 94-95 Coupe (Impossible to find)
A W140 96-99 S500/CL500 Coupe (the amount of things needing attention at some point is starting to scare me off big time)
D2 01-02 Audi S8 (also very hard to find)
W124 500E/E500, hard to find and high resale value
W126 560SEL/SEC, hard to find in good condition for good price
And finally, an X308 Jag XJR

Now I've done some research, and I actually stumbled upon a really comprehensive buyer's guide through Google for the X300s/X308s that I didn't see linked here so I thought I'd share.

http://www.pistonheads.com/gassing/t...22245&hm=50031

From my gathering, these cars are actually pretty reliable and dependable. Am I correct? Jaguar has that general reputation from being unreliable, after BL tainted their image in the 1970s and 1980s.

But all this research has added the X308 on my list.

My ultimate question, how would the cost of ownership compare to my Benz?