XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Radio hell!

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2019, 10:27 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Radio hell!

Hey there, I値l start by saying I知 a total novice when it comes to cars so forgive me if I sound stupid as I知 way out of my depth here. I drive a 2001 xj8 and have had radio trouble for months! Basically it asks me to enter a 4 digit code to access the radio. So after reading online I came to conclusion I had to call a dealership with my VIN and they would
provide the code which they did. However this code does not work so I知 at total loss. Haven稚 had a radio for months.If anyone has had this issue could they please help me out?

i have seen the videos of 2004 models being reset however the layout/style of 2001 is different. Again any suggests are welcome

Old 10-20-2019, 12:07 AM
Veteran Member
Received 886 Likes on 621 Posts

Originally Posted by Ste554
So after reading online I came to conclusion I had to call a dealership with my VIN and they would
provide the code which they did. However this code does not work...
Your radio was probably replaced with a radio from another car so there is no way to get the code. You will have to either buy another radio which comes with its code or buy a radio from the USA as most did not use a code. When replacing the radio, you can keep (swap) your face plate if it is better than on the radio you buy.

Radios with code: Alpine No. AJ9800R, Jaguar LNC4100AA

Radios not requiring code: Alpine No. AJ9800A, Jaguar LNC4100BA

Last edited by M. Stojanovic; 10-20-2019 at 03:10 AM.
The following users liked this post:
A.J.P (10-20-2019)
Old 10-20-2019, 04:42 AM
Received 56 Likes on 33 Posts

You could try taking the radio out ,you never know the prvious owner might of wrote it on the casing.(A long shot I know).
Did the car come with any books or paperwork,look at every page,you never know the P.O. might of wrote it down anywhere.