XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Recommend good quality speakers anyone?

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2017, 09:33 AM
Received 141 Likes on 72 Posts
Default Recommend good quality speakers anyone?

I did quite a bit of research before fitting an upgrade to include an AUX for my 1998 X308. During that search I remember someone mentioning about using a better speaker (door speakers) but I cannot find the post I remember reading.

Can anyone recommend good/really good speakers that will replace the standard ones used in the doors of a 1998 X308? Better speakers will allow me to really enjoy the AUX upgrade. Only thing is, I want to avoid cutting holes in the back parcel shelf, or bigger holes in the doors, or even fitting a pre-amp if at all possible? However, having said that, and being a musician myself, I have a really good ear for high quality sound! I might be inclined to fit tweeters if it would make a big difference?

I guess there will be some changes to do to the wiring used with the standard speakers, and if anyone has any advice on that it would also be welcomed. I'm sure my current system is just the standard system, and not the premium one (I only have a CD in the boot and nothing else)?

many thanks in anticipation...

Paul

Old 10-20-2017, 09:59 AM
Veteran Member
Received 2,181 Likes on 1,584 Posts

I have some Eton speakers and Ampire speakers in my car... Really good, but the radio can't power them enough to get the sound out of them, that they can actually properly produce.

Old 10-20-2017, 10:25 AM
Veteran Member
Received 492 Likes on 374 Posts