XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Replaced engine now have many "new" issues

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2013, 02:29 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Replaced engine now have many "new" issues

greetings one and all, I am a Newbie to posting but a Jag owner of various models over the last 15 years. My current Jag is a 98 X308 , bought with a blown engine ( didnt tear it down but looks like peices of piston came out of exhaust port as I was swapping manifolds over). I bought a low mile used but already reman engine with the Blue temp stickers on the heads. Pulled the eng and trans as a unit. I did the A drum replacement as a precaution (it had begun cracking...good call you guys!) while the trans was out. More on that later as I was able to buy all the needed parts inc Orings, gaskets, updated A drum, filter etc for under around $200. anyway, I did check the tensioners, and found them to be Gen 2 but not cracked anywhere. I left them alone pending how the whole thing ran, and would return to them later.
I put on a new waterpump, water outlet and new aluminum thermo housing, and the hard-to-get-at-later heater hoses under the intake manifold.