XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Restricted Performance / Engine Stall / Gearbox Fault

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2010, 05:39 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Restricted Performance / Engine Stall / Gearbox Fault

Hi All,

A newbie here (and total non techie by the way), many thanks for all your welcoming messages.

My 2000 XJ8 (93,000 miles) has recently (the last 2 weeks) started displaying messages and I would be grateful if anyone can recognise these symptoms and offer any ideas.

Always starts first time but the engine picture is almost always illuminated on the rev counter dial. When driving the Restricted Performance (plus orange warning light) message comes on and off regularly.

Occasionally, I have also had Engine Stalls and also I've had Gearbox Fault (plus orange warning light).

With the Gearbox Fault, if I turn the engine off and re-start it is ok again.

However, not sure if I'm getting paranoid but I'm sure I've noticed a fear gear changes sounding clunky (when changing down at lower speeds).

Not sure if this helps but I also sometimes get the Traction Unavailable after going over a bump or pothole (again at lower speeds).

I've seen on the forum that a weak battery can cause problems. I bought a new battery just over a year ago and in August after a 2 week holiday the battery was flat - is that normal? How long would you expect a battery to last (assuming I drive the car most days). I re-charged the battery for 24 hours and had no problems until all of these messages.

Any help would be gratefully received.

Best wishes.

Old 10-18-2010, 12:56 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,064 Likes on 867 Posts

lofty- welcome!
Let me give a go on some of your issues.
The "engine light" is also called the CEL (check engine light). It means that yiou have some stored codes. Get these read, write down the exact code numbers and then have it reset. Auto Zone or Advance Auto will do that for free.