XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Short circuit in lights? - 1st issue

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2010, 07:58 PM
Received 87 Likes on 71 Posts
Default Short circuit in lights? - 1st issue

Hi everybody -
I'm a newbie who just bought a 2001 XJ8 VDP w/ 75K miles. A wonderful car on the highway, very comfortable. I got it for cheap because it has a few, er, issues. The first is:
The interior lights, the vanity lights, the map lights, the globe box light, the outside mirrors, the tilt column and maybe a few other things DON'T WORK. Fuse #7 in the left hand heelboard, 15A, which supplies B+ to the Body Control Module for "solenoids, lamps and motors" was blown. I pulled the blown fuse, and a new one blew as soon as I inserted it in the fuse box.
So my first thought is that either the body control module is blown, OR, one of the circuits it feeds is shorted to ground but the BCM is all right. I don't think the BCM can be completely blown, as other functionality that goes through the BCM and has other B+ feeds, still works.
I am thinking of cutting the wire from pin 101 BCM (which feeds the map, courtesy and visor lights) and then trying another fuse. If that doesn't work, I may get another (used) BCM.
Anyone have any thoughts on this? Thx.

Old 11-08-2010, 08:27 PM
Received 8,320 Likes on 5,022 Posts

Remove BOTH sunvisors and look at the wires that are probably shorted to earth with the mount screws!! That is the most common fault (ask me how I know???) Put a new fuse in and see if the fault reoccurs. Make sure the wires are tucked out of the way when reinstalling the visors!!

bob gauff

The following users liked this post:
Cambo (03-26-2019)
Old 11-08-2010, 08:46 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,932 Likes on 3,228 Posts