XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Stabilitycontrol fail and traction control fail problem - Resolved

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2013, 06:51 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stabilitycontrol fail and traction control fail problem - Resolved

Hi,I am very new to the forum. I'm just beginning to sort out a few things with my Jag. It's a 1997 Sovereign V8 4.0 Lwb. I've recently got a warning light come up on the dash saying, "Stabilitycontrol fail and traction control fail" and the ABS light comes on. After switching off the ignition and switching on again it usually clears. There appears to be nothing wrong with the traction or stabililty. The ABS judders a couple of times when braking and then clears itself . The problem seems to occur when the car is parked overnight when it's raining. Is it possible that a sensor is getting wet and ccausing a short. If anyone has any idea's I would be grateful.
Thanks
Simon.

Last edited by steveinfrance; 01-06-2013 at 09:38 AM.
Old 01-01-2013, 07:25 AM
Received 40 Likes on 35 Posts

A happy new year to you too, Simon!

And of course welcome to the forum!

If the message only appears at start-up and not while driving, and if it "prefers" to appear on cold and wet days, go for a new battery.

My Daimler had this issue and I replaced the battery last Saturday (and now I'm waiting for a really cold day to confirm that it was caused by a weak battery ).

Old 01-01-2013, 07:43 AM

Thanks for the reply. It does stay on whilst driving, but if I stop and turn the ignition off after 10 mins then it doesnt come back on again.

Simon.

Old 01-01-2013, 07:59 AM
Veteran Member
Received 687 Likes on 590 Posts

Simon,
I've moved your post to the X308 section where you'll get more help.
There are many threads on this subject.
Probably start by cleaning the ABS sensors (there's a video on the XK8/XKR How-To 's

Old 01-01-2013, 08:00 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,360 Likes on 1,070 Posts