XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Standing alone in a crowd of mediocracy

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2024, 12:48 PM
Veteran Member
Received 474 Likes on 355 Posts
Default Standing alone in a crowd of mediocracy

I’ve been driving and owning X308 Jaguars for around 15 years now having bought my first one in 2009. It was a dream car for me, I had a press shot of one on my bedroom wall growing up when everyone else lusted after Italian or Japanese sports cars. My ownership has not been consistent though, I’ve had several periods of being between Jaguars, but I seem to find myself back behind the wheel of a 308 eventually.

I’ve owned my current one since November 2023 and I’ve been driving it around here and there as I work though some of the issues she’s got. But today whilst creeping though some early rush hour traffic it occurred to me I haven’t actually seen another one on the road for a while now. As I looked around me in the fading light I realised that there were several of the same type of cars, mostly the same colour and there I sat in my BRG Jaguar XJR which stood out amongst the silver and grey jelly moulds.

I am lucky enough to be the owner of a few classic cars and whilst I love them to pieces they do attract attention whenever I take them out. I’m a pretty quiet person who enjoys his privacy, and it can be a bit much when for the eighteenth time that hour someone has honked at you in traffic or shouted to you. But the X308 is different. It has without a doubt reached reached classic status, but it’s a cool classic that slinks below the radar of the masses of armchair car experts and is appreciated by the educated few.