XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

trouble with cold start

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2008 | 10:48 PM
|
Default trouble with cold start

98 XJR - I just replaced my engine with a used 98 XJR engine (tensioners have been replaced) it runs great now; however, it doesn't want to start from cold start. It will just keep turning over and not fire. It will usually start on the 4th or 5th try if I'm lucky - once it's been fired up, it will start for the rest of the day on the first turn of the key - only has problems with the first start of the day.
I have no idea why this is....... any suggestions???

Old 08-25-2008 | 12:07 AM
Default RE: trouble with cold start

Skanoski, as I am still learning about Jags, this will be a shoot from the hip kind of diagnosis. It sounds to me like the problem is fuel and not fire. The problem may be the fuel rail loosing it's prime so to speak from a leaky fuel pump check valve. This would allow the fuel to flow back down from the engine over several hours. I would think if it was leaky injectors it would at least try to start on the first try.

Joe
[align=left] [/align]

Old 08-25-2008 | 12:19 AM

[align=left]To test this theory, start the car and let it run for only about a minute right before you go to bed. Then see if it starts easier first thing in the morning.[/align]

Old 08-26-2008 | 10:23 PM
|

not sure what the deal is - the threshold from the engine firing right up to barely starting is around 8-10 hours of cooling off. Any other ideas?? How would I diagnose a leaky check valve?
thanks ...

Old 08-27-2008 | 09:21 AM

[align=left]I think we have enough information to make a good diagnosis. The good news is it may be a cheap or easy fix! Start thinking in terms of, "it takes 8 to 10 hours of the car sitting, for gravity to pull enough gas out of the fuel rail to cause it to barely start.