XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

VDP buying advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2013, 12:36 PM
Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
Default VDP buying advice

New member here with potentially dumb, newby questions. Your consideration of these facts is appreciated in advance. Ha.

So I've been lurking around this forum for months as I've gotten closer and closer to finally buying my first Jag. I finally signed up because, quite honestly, I find you guys to be extremely knowledgable and really helpful.

I'm looking to find a '98-'01 VDP and am wondering if you have some advice that can help me make the best decision possible.

Here's what I know (mostly from my lurking):

1. It's all about the transmission, the tensioners & the timing. Whatever VDP I go with needs to have solid records of the work that's been done here or I probably need to expect to spend some money myself to have it done.

I suppose the question there is, I'm not really a mechanical guy when it comes to cars of any kind. How do I avoid sinking money into a VDP that's on the verge of a total meltdown?

2. I know this vintage is right in the middle of some engine issues—hence question number one.

But is there a particular year in this range I should really avoid? Or is there a manufacture date that is a huge red flag?

3. Last, I have no idea from a maintenance standpoint whether I want it supercharged or not. That may seem like an odd statement, but I've had high performance cars, if I wanted to get a ton of HP out of this I'd look at the XJR. So for me, supercharged isn't a big thing—but I don't know enough to definitely stay away or consider it.

Would I expect higher annual maintenance costs with the supercharged VDP, and does it impact gas mileage?

I found some really good info in Curdy's thread here, particularly from danielsand and RedOctober.

But honestly, any and all advice is appreciated.

Thanks.

Old 03-30-2013, 02:12 PM
Received 122 Likes on 101 Posts