XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

XJ8 Daily Driver Opinions

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2022, 11:31 AM
Received 202 Likes on 141 Posts
Default XJ8 Daily Driver Opinions

I've already read through some older threads on this, just curious for opinions from anyone who daily drives an x308 XJ8 currently. Last week my daily driver (2004 Impala SS) was rear-ended and I'm sure once the process is over it will be totaled and paid out by the other driver's insurance company. Pretty upset about this, my father bought it brand new and I've been driving it for tha past 5-6 years and it currently has 287,500 miles on it. Was in fantastic cosmetic and mechanical condition, but there's more damage than its worth.

I drive about 20-25k miles annually and don't want or need to spend a lot of money on a commuter. I've been driving GM cars with the Buick Supercharged V6 for as long as I can remember, but they're getting hard to find in decent shape. In my search I've come across quite a few XJ8s in good condition for little money. Would an XJ8 be a wise choice for a driver? I know the XJ8 transmission is not as robust as the 5-speed in the XJR, but more concerned about general reliability. Also aware of timing issues, can sort that on my own if its an early car.

For anyone that drives one of these daily how has it been? Do they do well when putting a lot of miles on them? I have other cars so minimal downtime would be OK, but I'm used to the rock solid reliablity of my early 2000s GM stuff and would prefer similar. I definitely don't want a car that I'd be worried about jumping in and just going anywhere.

It's probalby not the wisest decision, but for what they go for and me doing any necessary work myself I have almost convinced myself that it wont be that bad. Any opinions welcomed and appreciated.

Old 08-15-2022, 12:43 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,537 Likes on 831 Posts