XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

XJR head gasket repair, any and all advice welcome :-)

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2015, 05:54 AM
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default XJR head gasket repair, any and all advice welcome :-)

i have the 4.0 supercharge engine which has done a head gasket and after several people promising to repair it and one wanting to buy it i have been let down by everyone!

So i am now thinking about repairing it myself. I am not a mechanic but pretty handy with the spanners and have built a fair few old aircooled vw motors. I know this is a lot more involved but am more than happy to have a blast at it.

So do you have any tips or tricks or pics for me to get started. I am hoping to do it with the engine in situ and just trying to get a bit of first hand help to get me going, so just looking for what is necessary to come off if you would be able to help at all.

I have done a lot of searching and have got hold of the engine repair course booklet from here and also the XK cylinder head LH booklet too, so thats good reference to get stuck into.

thanks to all.

Old 11-11-2015, 04:20 PM
Received 84 Likes on 71 Posts

Look up my headgasket tread

The following users liked this post:
vwbusbits (11-15-2015)
Old 11-11-2015, 04:40 PM

Well, I bit the bullet today and had the car recovered to my workshop to start the strip down. After a lot of tea drinking and reading on here I got stuck in. I have got as far as removing supercharger, charge coolers, throttle body, thermostat housing and all top radiator hoses, fan assenly and both drive belts.
Will do some more tomorrow, but so far so good, nothing has broken and it all seems to have come apart relatively easily. I have photographs of everything and written down everything I have done in sequence so far.

How it looked at the start.

How it looks now!

Old 11-11-2015, 04:48 PM

Originally Posted by adam699
Look up my headgasket tread