XJ40 ( XJ81 ) 1986 - 1994

1990 Daimler joined the family

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2022, 12:18 AM
Received 229 Likes on 148 Posts
Default 1990 Daimler joined the family

Hello

I work in the construction industry, which means redundancy is a fact of life when work comes to an end. Last time I was given notice, I purchased a cheap XJS in Perth (other side of Oz) with my brother and his mate giving it the once over for me - so sight unseen for my eyes. So that became my hobby for quite a while.

I am again facing redundancy, and have been looking around for another cat playmate for the XJS, when I saw the add - 1990 Daimler, suitable for parts, and I was again very interested.
Looking at the photo's, front bumper was damaged, paint lifting (clear coat), rust around the filler cap, rust in the boot lid, under the bonnet looked complete, interior looked reasonable.
It was via text messages conversation only, as we had a bit of a language barrier, but the car was a non goer with potential old fuel in the system (? hopefully all that is wrong), but all electrics work (sceptical), jag tool kit in the boot.

So I did the only sensible thing and purchased it sight unseen.

Mate had to go to Brisbane last week, and he brought it home (to his workshop anyway) today, and I could not be happier. I have another project. As well as the front bumper being damaged, the rear bumper is also damaged, there is a scrape on the left hand side doors that I did not see in the photo's (as no photo of that side was taken), interior is in reasonable condition, passenger seat is a bit damaged, but mainly everything needs a clean and condition. Head liner is in good condition (which surprised me). Apart from the above mentioned rust, does not appear to be too much more.

Photo's of my new toy

Yes - that is oil on the truck bed, underneath the motor

Two doors have been scrapped by something, everything else is straight, bit of rust in the boot lid