XJ40 ( XJ81 ) 1986 - 1994

Electrical problems

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2023, 01:24 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electrical problems

Hello!
Im new to the Jaguar world as well as to this forum, so please excuse any mistakes! Thank you!
So, I just bought my first XJ40.
Ive got a few problems and hopefully someone can help me. So here goes:
1) The radio doesn't work. If i turn the car on, the lights around the volume button light up but not the screen. Also the security light is always off, contrary to many other radio problems ive read about. What could the issue be here?
2) The fuel gauge isn't working. I'd guess I just have to replace the sensor.
3) The centre locking doesnt work. If i close either the driver side door or the passenger side, it closes said door but nothing else. The boot just howls as if its trying to close but doesn't actually.
4) Maybe has something to do with point 3. The boot only opens from the inside button in the glovebox.
5) The brake light comes on when pressing the brake pedal
6) The window switches click but dont roll down.
7) Only the high setting of the climate control works, the others are very little to no air at all. All windows fog up and i dont think the air con works.

That should be it. I know, its a lot. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
Jan

Old 05-12-2023, 07:51 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,164 Likes on 817 Posts

Hi Jan
Im not quite the expert some are but ill have a bash-
1. If your battery has been disconnected you may simply need to enter its security code. My code is handwritten inside the cover of my owners manual.
2. Do you mean that it doesnt move at all? are you sure there is gas ?(I know, but it has to be asked)
3.Does locking with the key work for all doors or are you only trying the button? Do the other doors act like they are trying, or just nothing? The remote trunk actuator is junk. Mine makes the same noise on one, and the other is unplugged.