XJ40 ( XJ81 ) 1986 - 1994

oil in the tps

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2010, 04:19 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default oil in the tps

hey guys im new to jags and my check engine light and trans light went on and stayed on i looked on this forum and decided to check the tps and it is full of oil. i was not able to clean it with anything it is almost like the oil is burnt on. 1) wheres the cheapest place to get a tps and were is the oil coming from oh! its a 92 xj6 thanks jon

Old 12-19-2010, 04:51 PM
Veteran member
Received 329 Likes on 258 Posts

Jon:
I would check the sponsoring vendors from this site first to price out a new TPS. Beyond that, do a price comparison from the other Jaguar suppliers by googling "jaguar parts" or some such thing. It's a good thing to shop around, but it also doesn't hurt to find a parts store you like and build some loyalty. I have found myself buying a lot from the place in Michigan because of the Midwest connection.

The throttle position sensor sits on the underside of the throttle assembly. It is thus subject to all sorts of drippage and gunk from years and years of gas and dirt and dust passing over. Dirty TPSs are absolutely common, but a faulty TPS does generally trip a fault. What I do know is that the TPS must be aligned perfectly with an ohmmeter. It takes a bit of fiddling because of it's difficult location. You'd need to refer to a manual or perhaps somebody else will chime in with the precise calibrations.