XJ40 ( XJ81 ) 1986 - 1994

SOS Eletrical

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2024, 01:44 AM
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Lightbulb SOS Eletrical

Complete newbie to electrical work!
Read a forum that stated "a multimeter is a must buy for this car" and so I did. At first all the options got me confused, so I learned the basics. Then the diagrams where a hassle to figure out but I started to make sense of it. The main issue I really have is if I start tinkering with different stuff and create problem that I'm not supposed to have!

The Problem:

Car's radiator fan is not working due to electrical/wiring. Further more right side blinker is not working.
into diagnosing the problem I noticed that the from blinker light comes on when I break but only the front..
and the break applied plus the left window coming down killed the car! (that was window coming down I pressed the break and it died)

aside from that the car is mint, 136xxx miles its due an engine seals job little smoke comes off the exhaust on start up but it comes down to nearly invisible.. get worse if it seats for a while but not bad at all..

Currently working on finding the possible bad grounds to clean them up. Last wiring left me a rats nest so homing to redo some of the work he's done!

Would appreciate some pictures on what it should look like and where the ground are and how they where originally done or better alts.

Just want to get this car back to its full glory and learn a thing or two along the way..

yes family dollar sell the cheapest boostercables just let me cheapout where I can haha

Last edited by Dado; 04-13-2024 at 01:54 AM.
Old 04-13-2024, 02:41 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,868 Likes on 1,189 Posts

If you've got a 93 you should download the 93MY electrical guide, the 90MY will be somewhat different.

Old 04-13-2024, 08:55 PM
Received 1,068 Likes on 626 Posts

Just reinforcing Lawrence's advice ref the 1993 model differences,