XJ40 ( XJ81 ) 1986 - 1994

What type of gas?

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2010, 06:21 PM
Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
Default What type of gas?

Okay, i got the 1994 VDP and i was just wondering which type of gas should i put in it? I am new to Jaguar and always use Shell gas stations, would the VDP just take Regular, Plus or V-power? Thanks again Jaguar Forums!

Old 10-10-2010, 07:44 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,111 Likes on 932 Posts

Jaguar specifies 93 octane (US). Lively discussion here: https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/s...ad.php?t=31594

Old 10-10-2010, 08:24 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I always buy gas from major oil companies and use high test (highest octane). I don't want a mucky engine later on. It's just not worth it to me to save a pennies on the gas and maybe have a huge engine repair bill. High performance engine means high performance fuel.

Old 10-10-2010, 08:29 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

High compression engines require high octane in order to prevent "pinging" or detonation. It's not just a recommendation, it's necessary. Lower octane can de-tune the cam and/or cause other internal problems.

Old 10-10-2010, 09:26 PM

Thanks for the reply everyone. So does my VDP take the V-power?

Old 10-10-2010, 11:33 PM
Received 2,263 Likes on 1,845 Posts

testpoint mentioned a Jaguar spec of 93 octane. You can use any brand of gasoline with that octane rating. There is no connection whatsoever between 'quality' and octane rating. Discount gas stations get their product from the same refineries as the national brands. Don't be fooled by marketing claims.

Old 10-11-2010, 09:55 AM
Veteran member
Received 1,151 Likes on 753 Posts

Originally Posted by Mikey
There is no connection whatsoever between 'quality' and octane rating. Discount gas stations get their product from the same refineries as the national brands. Don't be fooled by marketing claims.