XJ40 ( XJ81 ) 1986 - 1994

XJ6, XJ40 Vanden Plas Radio Upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2012, 01:39 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default XJ6, XJ40 Vanden Plas Radio Upgrade

I bought a 1993 XJ6 XJ40 Vanden Plas to fix up for my 57th Birthday this week.

I have fixed almost every and any type car or truck starting when I was 8 helping to change plugs and oil and greasing anything needed it. I always liked Jaguar quality of workmanship.

I will have many posts in time I am sure. I am a disabled VET on a limited budget. This post is about the radio cassette player and in trunk cd changer.

I was wondering if anyone had a suggestion for a good compatible and still attractive new or used cd upgrade, even from a different model Jaguar or other car perhaps. I am good with tools and wiring so I can take the dash apart and do some rewiring if needed.

Please help. I have no cassettes and do have cds. I filled the cassette in the trunk and love it. I would just like to put one in the dash too occasionally. Perhaps MP3 compatible even, Nav system would be nice too. I have looked around and am a bit confused due to the cd changer and security system. I trust the community to know better than I do about inexpensive good upgrades.

Thank you in advance for any advice.

Old 07-23-2012, 02:09 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,231 Likes on 716 Posts

Welcome to the forum Rich.

I know nothing about MP3 or Nav systems.

But I did change the original units for a Pioneer system a couple of years ago.

No real problems, but whatever, you will need to sort out and pair up the speaker wiring with whatever new unit you go for.

Old 07-23-2012, 08:31 PM
Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Welcome to the forum...