XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

12-Digit VIN

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2021, 06:38 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 12-Digit VIN

Hello all. I am new to this and excited to be here. I have inherited a 1972 XJ6-L (series II). The VIN is only 12 digits long, which is really giving me problems doing any kind of searching about the car's past. I have records for the past 22 years, but before that I have nothing. I specifically need to verify who the past owners were, which is normally a difficult (if not impossible) task to begin with. I was told that the car was once owned by actor Ray Milland (who also owned a gorgeous 1959 Jaguar XK150 S 3.4 Fixed Head Coupe). Milland was apparently was an amateur show/racer and general car enthusiast/collector. Anyway, have any of you ever dealt with the 12-digit VIN problem? None of the "decoders" I've come across help me at all.

Old 03-11-2021, 07:38 AM
Veteran Member
Received 2,443 Likes on 1,838 Posts

Hi,
go to the JDHT (Jaguar Daimler Heritage Trust) and order a Heritage Certificate with that VIN. It costs around $100. USD
www.jdht.com

Getting the names of previous owners will be a challenge because DMV have privacy laws and it depends on the State's policies.

Some States will approve a request if you request through a licensed attorney and notarize it. But how do you know if the car was registered in another state previously? That is another Search and more fees.

Why exactly do you need to know who the previous owners were?

Last edited by Jose; 03-11-2021 at 07:44 AM.
Old 03-11-2021, 08:28 AM