XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992

Ball Joint Replacement?

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2011, 12:53 PM
Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Ball Joint Replacement?

I am now serious about replacing these. I have never done suspension work before but have done headers, tappet guide brake rotors etc. This is somewhat virgin territory for me and I am a little nervous. Is there anyone on the forum that could direct me to a step by step guide?
I would also like to speak to someone who has done this. I am not a stalker or weird O ( ok strike that - that is not what the wife and 3 kids say ) but would just like some sound advice.

Please PM me or send me your contact information and a time to call to Artvandelay1@verizon.net

Thanks for all the help

Old 03-04-2011, 02:25 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,455 Likes on 1,951 Posts

Can you please confirm you have an XJ6 saloon dated some time between 1968-1986.

Front suspension balljoints on these cars are a very easy job, but you will need a balljoint splitter to get the taper on the fixing released. Apart from that, also you need good quality jack and axle stands or wooden blocks to support the lower spring carrier, because releasing a ball-joint also release the spring, and these are very, very strong springs, but nothing to worry about if you do the job right, which is to keep the full weight of the car on them at all times whilst doing the job.

The only problem you may find in doing the job is that you find other work to do, like a broken spring, or severely corroded spring pans. The other joints to look at are the inners on the top wishbone, called "Slipflex" bushes. These usually seize up and cause their securing bolt to rotate, thus wearing out their housing in the front cross member.