XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992

Missing Fuel Tank

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2016, 08:57 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Missing Fuel Tank

Hi everybody!

I'm very new to this, so I'll try to explain as best I can.

I bought an '86 XJ6 last night, knowing it needs work. It has been in a garage for the past seven years, and it needs various things like paint, tires, a good service, etc (but seems to be electrically intact!!). The owners were selling it it because it wouldn't start when they tried to move it out of storage.

Anyway, I bought it and started fooling around with it, and noticed that one of the fuel tanks is missing. I contacted the previous owner and they told me that they sent the tank over the border to have a hole repaired and the company made a mess of it. The right hand side tank seems to look alright. Is there any way that I could run the car on the right hand side tank until I can get my hands on another? I realize that the range isn't going to be much, but my commute is only around 30 miles a day.

In addition, I had a couple of ideas as to how I'm going to tackle the engine, but I'd love suggestions!

Thanks in advance for any and all help, I'm sure I'll be back with more!

Dino

Old 01-10-2016, 11:02 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,366 Likes on 795 Posts

New tanks are still available from Spectra. They can be bought on Rockauto.com and perhaps other places. Rotted out fuel tanks are typical and the repair or replace debate senselessly rages on. In my opinion, new tanks are the only way to go because it's a difficult job and failed fuel tanks can send tiny rust particles through your fuel injectors and pump, possible ruing both. If the filter doesn't catch them all you are in for a world of hurt. Repairing tanks is penny wise and pound foolish.