XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992

Rear spring rate help

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2021, 11:56 AM
Received 35 Likes on 17 Posts
Question Rear spring rate help

Hey Guys, I'm new to the suspension world and looking for some information. My ultimate goal is to determine "spring rate" for the rear of my XJ6. I want to do a custom setup and trying to pick my strut/spring. The calculator I'm using asks for rear corner weight, for sprung weight. It asks for corner unsprung weight. Motion ratio and spring angle. Any information would be great! Cheers

Old 01-29-2021, 02:20 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,130 Likes on 625 Posts

There will be a small/large difference in weight between any two cars, so you will have to do your own measuring. Your car needs to be loaded/unloaded and in the "as driven" condition to be accurate. That includes gas in the tanks(how much), spare tire(or not), passengers(or not, how much will they weigh), suit cases or bicycle in the boot(or not, how much will they weigh), etc. How much do you weigh?