XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992

Unknown part -help please

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2016, 01:23 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Unknown part -help please

Hello i'we been having some problems with my jaguar xj6 series from 1974 to start when cold. after eliminating all the other possible problems ( fuel pump, carburetors, ignition ) i come to believe that the problem comes from this part
does anyone know what it does or how it works or how is even called in order to be able to change it or replace it ??

here are some pictures
https://beta.postimg.org/image/tt0vyhi85/
https://beta.postimg.org/image/l9cwmzkhx/

thank you very much for your help
any advice is more than welcome

Old 03-27-2016, 03:52 AM
Received 52 Likes on 40 Posts

I'm no carb expert, but if that is a fuel feed line I would just check flow to the carbs for starters, I'm sure the clever chaps will chime in.

Old 03-27-2016, 04:01 AM
Received 3,960 Likes on 2,861 Posts

I could be wrong but the series 2 were fitted with an automatic enrichment device for cold starts....I believe they were not very reliable. Mine has been converted to a manual choke which is old school but simple. I read somewhere that they are repairable.

Old 03-27-2016, 04:30 AM
Received 10,504 Likes on 6,936 Posts

That is an Upper Cylinder Lube unit, or the remains of one.

The bottle holding the Lube liuid is missing, as is the hose from that bottle to that spare spigot.

Down here we have the likes of Flashlube, Moreys, etc.

It has nothing to do with Cold Starting.

The AED is missing, so I reckon it has a manual choke.

That spigot will be giving a HUGE vac leak, which will be reeking havoc. Follow the 2 hoses and remove them and plug the 2 points at the carbies.

The following 2 users liked this post by Grant Francis:
Daf11e (03-27-2016), Jag7651 (03-27-2016)
Old 03-27-2016, 07:57 AM
Veteran Member
Received 2,399 Likes on 1,880 Posts