XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992

V12 header sources

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2022, 01:36 PM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default V12 header sources

Hi,
I have a 1975 XJ12C V12. I have been a motorhead for 42 years but I am new to Jag ownership. I believe that it is a good thing to improve airflow through an engine and a good set of headers generally helps if everything is set up correctly. I have been told that the stock V12 exhaust manifolds work pretty well and that headers are not worth the effort. But I am still looking around at my options. So far I have found a company in England and Australia that offer V12 headers. The Australian ones are more expensive but look to be a far better design imo. Are there any other sources to a quality made exhaust header for a V12 for my chassis that anyone can direct me to? Second question, how do I get the Australian piece to the US if I d not find any good alternatives? I have no knowledge about what the shipping options are. I checked with Fed Ex and it was a $6,300 bill. Obviously I am not doing that. DHL came in at something like $2300 but that is still pretty expensive. If I remember right shipping from England was less than $100 so I am hoping there are other options and I'd like to avoid any CA ports if possible.
TYIA
Chris

Old 02-05-2022, 02:04 PM
Veteran Member
Received 9,330 Likes on 5,475 Posts

According to Roger Bywater, who worked on the V12 at Jaguar, there are no worthwhile gains to be had by changing the facory exhaust manifolds. If there were to be any, it would be a 5,000 plus RPM and badly affect mid range torque. The science behind this is clearly set out in his book "Moden engine technology";
I have asked two well known UK suppliers of such exhaust manfolds for dynomometer data, and they had to confess to not having any. Draw your own conclusions.

The following 2 users liked this post by Greg in France:
lickahotskillet (02-06-2022), Mguar (11-23-2022)
Old 02-05-2022, 02:21 PM