Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Wheel Bearing Refit Advice

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2020, 03:40 PM
Received 100 Likes on 56 Posts
Default Wheel Bearing Refit Advice

I'm not a professional.

I am replacing the Front Wheel Bearing, reason being that I was hearing noise. I redid the front suspension two summers ago (I only drive this car in summer and not much at that) and when I put the front hub back together I just did a "reassembly is the reverse". As a result I didn't know about packing bearings and how to properly tighten the stub axle crown nut. I took the hub off today and there was tiny metal particles in the grease at the end of the stub axle (where the castle nut and cotter pin are) which I recognize as wear. So I need to replace. I looked at the stub axle itself and it looks correct (I'm comparing it against photographs of new from SNG Barrett). So I think the problem was indeed the bearings and not tightening them properly.

There are some important things that need to be done when redoing the bearings that I do not knwo about and I'm hoping people here can give some guidance. Here's the topics.

1) Repacking the Bearings. So I've seen on Youtube the grease in the palm and squish it in method. Is this how you pack Series III bearings?

2) Checking bearing fit to stub axle. Some people have referred to this and clearances and slop and I don't know what any of that means. How do you check the bearings' fit on the Stub Axle? What does slop mean?

3) Tightening the Axle Nut. I read something about tightening, backing off, retightening. I have no idea what these people are saying. The Shop Manual gives a torque spec and that is what I tightened to last time. I think that is wrong. Can anyone take me 1-2-3 through the tightening sequence?

4) Greasing the Hub. I think I overdid this last time. I look in the Hub at what I did last time and it looks like a tunnel of grease. Can;t be right.

5) Any other tips for this work?

Old 02-01-2020, 06:09 PM