XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992

XJ6 S2 engine guru needed in Swindon, England - Food/Drink provided!

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2016, 07:16 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default XJ6 S2 engine guru needed in Swindon, England - Food/Drink provided!

Hi all,

I'm a pretty competent home mechanic but my 1974 XJ6 4.2 has beaten me

I am serious about an Engine guru coming to swindon, I will provide food/beverages and good hospitably, so if you would like to come let me know, it would be greatly appreciated

Here is what happened. I was tuning the carbs and got it running perfect. Pleased with myself, I turned off the ignition to go and get a cup of tea and when I came back it wouldn't start. I have since got it running but only on about 3 cylinders.

Here are the measures I have taken to try and get it running.

- measured all voltages in the ignition system (all good)
- checked all grounds in ignition system system (all good)
- Fitted a new electronic ignition system and coil (still only ran on approx 3 cylinders)
- cleaned the carbs/spark plugs etc
- checked ignition leads/distributor/Rotor arm etc (all good)
- fitted a replacement fuel pump
- Checked the ballast resistor (good)
- checked for vacuum leaks (cant find any)
- The spark looks good but i'm not 100% sure

The car has a manually converted AED with a manual cable which opearates two cams on top of it. I ran the engine by blocking off the AED and it was still the same

My compression tester is playing up (I think) but maybe doing a compression test is the next thing

Please comment if you think I have missed anything obvious but if you really know these engines and fancy a trip to Swindon, please come, I am free most days/eves

thanks

Rich

Old 12-06-2016, 08:12 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,366 Likes on 795 Posts