XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

XJ6 Series III dash and center console wood trim

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2018, 05:32 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default XJ6 Series III dash and center console wood trim

Hi all, any suggestions for treating or securing cracked/cracking wood trim on the dash and center console of an ‘87 XJ6 Series III?
Thanks,
Brendan

Old 03-26-2018, 07:18 AM
Veteran Member
Received 10,871 Likes on 7,150 Posts

Not that I'm an expert but the damage is done and can't be undone. Refinishing is the only option.

Cheers
DD

Old 03-26-2018, 07:43 AM
Received 245 Likes on 147 Posts

Doug is right.. nothing can be done except to remove the dashboard and then remove the remaining "clear coat" - the stuff that is cracked.
Be careful as this is only veneer wood - very thin DO NOT SAND IT.
You may want to do some research on this forum about this subject,...if you screw it up,..you will find its a major factor that will affect the value of the car. "o"
This is not a job for the weekend warrior,..you should really research the subject of dashboard refurbishment. I have commented on how to go about this task and get a great results, and you will find this nfo in the past posts.

There is no easy "instant gratification" method - just need to get organized and research the subject. To remove the dash, to remove the old clear coat, prep for new clear coat, apply new clear coat, reinstall dash....about a week long exercise...

Old 03-26-2018, 07:45 AM
Received 88 Likes on 57 Posts

I haven't attempted to redo my dash yet, but I use to restore furniture. I agree with Doug if its cracked the only real way is to gently strip with a paint stripper, fine wire wool, stain and polish or re varnish as desired.

Old 03-26-2018, 07:49 AM

I would not use a stripper with the dash in the car..path to disaster...