XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

1987 XJS, overfueling?

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2013, 11:40 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1987 XJS, overfueling?

Newbie here, I know enough to be dangerous..

I just bought my 3rd Jag, but it's my first V-12. This car does start and run, but it runs poorly. I guess I'm looking for a starting point, although I know the coolant temp sensor is one of the first things I need to check. Here's what I know so far:

- It starts pretty normally.
- Idles fairly smoothly in Park, but sounds more like a cammed V8 car than a smooth V-12.
- In drive, still idles, but rougher... around 550-600 RPM.
- Revs hesitantly at first, but after a few tries swings cleanly through the RPM range.
- Same goes for driving. Rev its guts out, then put in gear and it runs fine, until you try to maintain a cruising speed (any cruising speed) and it cuts in and out as if you're letting off the gas. Very reluctant to accelerate after that starts unless you "clear" it out by revving again.
-Trunk smells kind of like gas. (I know, probably not related )

There's a myriad of other little things like the A/C not blowing cold even though the compressor is running, but that stuff can wait... I just would like to not set the damn thing on fire... which I know is always a possibility when they run this way, Marelli ignition or not.

Any opinions? You guys generally have answered my questions on previous cars without my even having to ask... thanks in advance!

Old 08-11-2013, 11:43 PM

A few things I forgot... of course, the exhaust smells rich. The dollar bill trick didn't lead me to believe it has a stuck valve, and it makes no strange valvetrain noises. Thanks!

Old 08-11-2013, 11:45 PM

Sigh... sorry, triple post fail. The distributor cap, wires, and plugs are all new. (Invoice in the glove box from 100 miles ago.)

Old 08-11-2013, 11:47 PM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts