XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

1989 XJS V12: Considering a Purchase

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2021, 04:35 PM
Received 46 Likes on 17 Posts
Default 1989 XJS V12: Considering a Purchase

I'm new to Jaguars but always wanted one. We've found a 1989 XJS V12 coupe seemingly in very good condition and I wanted some advice as what to look for when viewing the vehicle. It is described as being in excellent condition, good Car Fax available, new tires and everything works. He did mention that if I wanted good cold A/C, I would have to change the compressor as the current one struggles in hot weather. Seems I've read that this is common to the car. I do all the work on my vehicles and am well equipped to do so. I have a big shop, a lift and all the tools I should ever need. I don't mind a challenge but I don't want something that is going to be a major headache. Thanks for any advice!

Top Answer

11-10-2021, 08:50 PM
67Camaro
Default We Did It!

This is one of the smoothest driving vehicles! Quiet, handles well for what it is, stops sure and true. It does have several issues. Passenger side power window not working, sunroof will not open, cruise control not working and the radio is subpar. Very clean and no rust evident anywhere. I'm making a list. Hoses, valve cover gaskets, distributor rebuild, coolant flush, electric fans are on the winter time list. We love it!

Old 11-09-2021, 05:35 PM
GGG
Received 16,868 Likes on 12,186 Posts

Welcome to the forums 67Camaro,

I've moved your question from Jaguar Forums Feedback & Suggestion Centre to XJS forum. Members here with the same model will be able to help.

Please follow this link New Member Area - Intro a MUST - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum to the New Member Area - Intro a MUST forum and post some information about yourself and your vehicle for all members to see. In return you'll get a proper welcome and some useful advice about posting to the forum.

Graham

The following users liked this post: