XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Barr's Leaks?!? Seriously????

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2019, 08:43 PM
Received 17 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Barr's Leaks?!? Seriously????

Okay, I've said it before - I'm a Jag newbie.

But this evening I was reading the "XJS Drivers Handbook" for my '91 XJS. Specifically, I was looking up the cooling system specs & maintenance, as I know very little (well, NONE) of the history of this car, other than the strong suspicion that it sat for a *long* time before the PO bought it a year and a half ago.

Imagine my shock/surprise/horror when I saw that part of the drain, flush & refill procedure *in the handbook* is to add two 135mL bottles of Barr's Leaks.

I have NO intention of doing that. I don't see any indication of that in any of the posts on here regarding the cooling system (though, to be fair, there are a LOT of posts dealing with the cooling system, and I've only just scratched the surface).

I'll listen to the collective Brain Trust, but it would take a fairly convincing argument to change my mind on this.

What say ye?

Thanks in advance,

Brad

Old 08-30-2019, 09:47 PM
Received 285 Likes on 183 Posts

I say WOW! I don't think I'll go with that one either!

Old 08-31-2019, 02:01 AM
Received 67 Likes on 41 Posts

Do an online search for Kirby Palm's book. He speaks of the cooling system at length, as well as the foolishness of Barr's Leaks.

The short answer is: Don't use. The longer answer is in the book.

You will find the book indispensable.

Old 08-31-2019, 09:17 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,107 Likes on 695 Posts