XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Buying first Jaguar

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2010 | 04:38 PM
Veteran Member

Welcome! I'm new to the Jaguar world too. From what I've observed, pay attention to the floorboards as they tend to rust out, and so do the headbolts on the engine. I'm sure the more knowledgeable folks here will be happy to point out other items.

Old 05-03-2010 | 06:59 PM

They are relatively simple cars. The electronics can be flakey. Back brakes and rear end are supposed to be subject to neglect. Front stubbies can wear and need replacing.

Most important is rust. Depending on how the car was maintained rust can be a significant factor. Look for it at the bottoms of the windshield and floor pan

I have an 85 and love it.

pv

Old 05-04-2010 | 03:18 PM
Veteran Member

want to know what I'm getting myself into before I buy it.
The short answer is - a lot !!

The only way to get into an older Jaguar is to recognise that it is not made to the standards of much younger cars. This is not a car for a person who just wants a good looking means of transportation, you have to be an enthusiast and really love the looks and the whole Jaguar style thing. The ride quality is unique, in my opinion.

The XJS car was built in penny packets at Coventry, and used a lot of the parts of the XJ saloon. The body was hand assembled, and I have actually seen them being assembled at Castle Bromwich, the body factory for Jaguars. Engines are either the V12, very uneconomical in Europe, but bearable in the US with your cheap petrol, or the aluminium straight 6, the same as fitted to the XJ40 saloon of 1986 (= 87 US model year). These sixes are very good engines, but so are the V12s.