XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Can’t Blame Her - She’s Just “High-Maintenance”

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2010, 01:01 PM
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Can’t Blame Her - She’s Just “High-Maintenance”

First off, I am not a mechanic, however my adolescent "mechanic" experiences with my Yamaha YZ dirt-bikes and Datsun Z-cars has contributed a bit of knowledge about automobiles in general. I am not involved in a technical field, but consider myself a fairly technical person. Moreover, I have found that upon becoming a DIY mechanic, a more intimate bond develops between owner and vehicle...

The first impulse I had with my last dilemma/technical problem (see thread, ‘New Dimension in Sound’) was, "Oh, just another quirky XJS problem..." I even used profanity toward my beautiful Kitty (which I am now regretting). I was way out of line. The problem was my own fault and I believe the majority of problems encountered with these cars are “owner activated.” In the above listed thread, a simple, accidental crossing of the 3A and 3B spark plug wires made her slightly, yet incessantly “fart” during acceleration. After meticulously re-assembling the distributor/plug wiring during the Marelli (fire-hazard reduction) rotor mod, this terrible and unnerving sound coming from such a beautiful piece of art was one of the most disconcerting experiences I have had in recent years. Apparently, I was not meticulous enough as the prospect of driving her that evening (with freshly rebuilt brakes, and reduced "fire paranoia") prevented me from double-checking my work. Thankfully, this forum (particularly member, Doug Dwyer) provided the insight needed for me to re-examine my work and solve the problem.