XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Conditioning New Leather Seats

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2019, 05:35 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,296 Likes on 897 Posts
Default Conditioning New Leather Seats

Hello All. Crazy me again. Too many projects at once.

I feel like I'm going to come to the forum for a cookie recipe next... The internet,,, when seeking info,,, will drive ya nutts. So will the drive to get me to consume and buy...

I just recovered my seats... So far so good. Some puckering where I don't want or need but I am pleased with myself.

Q: seat leather is pretty raw, black, and doesn't feel like the producer (LSeat) "finished" them. I don't know if that is normal, or what. Anyways, it's my first time doing this (and 1000 other things with a Jaguar XJS) and I was wondering what you alls suggestions are about prepping or conditioning a new seat...

Super grateful for all and any input...

Thanks
Jay

Old pic. Still not buttoned up

Old 08-21-2019, 06:30 PM
Veteran Member
Received 538 Likes on 365 Posts

Off the top of my head I don't know of a final 'production level' last phase product applied before say...selling mass produced seats but as for conditioning I just slather on a good brand like chemical guys or something proven and then wrap the seats in garbage bags to encase it, let sit somewhere hot for a few days to really soak it up.

The above method took some very deep creases out of my 30 yr old driver seat.

Old 08-21-2019, 08:08 PM
Veteran Member
Received 558 Likes on 382 Posts

Originally Posted by JayJagJay
Hello All. Crazy me again. Too many projects at once.

I feel like I'm going to come to the forum for a cookie recipe next... The internet,,, when seeking info,,, will drive ya nutts. So will the drive to get me to consume and buy...

I just recovered my seats... So far so good. Some puckering where I don't want or need but I am pleased with myself.