XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

DarthEvil's XJS Refurb: SOLVED, STALLING/HESITATION

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2021, 03:21 PM
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default DarthEvil's XJS Refurb: SOLVED, STALLING/HESITATION

So, pretty sure I figured out why the car was hesitating/nearly stalling when i tapped on the gas.

I have no idea what any of these parts are called, and i'm still learning how a car functions but...
So... there is a little wheel that travels with the throttle body, and that wheel is attached to a sensor of some sort. My guess is that sensor indicates to the ECU the position of the throttle body, and hence how much gas to give the cylinders. Anyone know what that little wheel and sensor is called?

NOW, the throttle bottle is mechanically linked to the air intake. It looks like as the throttle body opens, it opens a valve at the end of the air..uh... box thing that allows air into the engine.
So. I was fiddling with the throttle body while the car was idling, just tapping it open a bit. And the car would stall eventually.
I noticed that there was a piece missing on the linkage, looks like there should be a rubber gromit thingy there:

So basically the throttle body was traveling, but due to the missing thingy, the air thing wasn't opening at all! So it was giving her gas but no air.... hence why it was stalling when i tapped the gas.

What is this... what is this feeling that i now have? I feel.... good.... like... maybe I figured something out...
This feeling is powerful, almost... addictive...

Wait, is it called a:

THROTTLE LINKAGE MOUNTING PLATE BUSHING
??

Last edited by DarthEvil; 03-21-2021 at 03:29 PM.
The following users liked this post:
Mkii250 (03-22-2021)
Old 03-21-2021, 06:00 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,236 Likes on 943 Posts

i made two of them from ALUMINUM nice tight fit , no slop!
works great been 27yrs now!

Last edited by ronbros; 03-21-2021 at 06:20 PM.
Mkii250 (03-22-2021)
Old 03-21-2021, 06:16 PM
Veteran Member