XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Is the Delanair HVAC system worth keeping?

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2021, 10:14 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Is the Delanair HVAC system worth keeping?

I'm new to the XJS world and still learning but thought I'd stick my neck out and ask here what I'be been wondering about....Is the Delanair heading and cooling system worth the trouble to repair and keep working? Can and average sale tree mechanic do that properly?

I was speaking to a on owner recently of at least 5 XJS cars who told me that rather than try to fix and maintain the Delanair system I would be much better off just scraping it and installing an off the shelf conventional ac/heating unit...the type that is often times sold to be installed in cars that never had AC before (older cars, hot rods and such).

He made me wonder if there were better alternatives. Am I being too skeptical about a system I've yet to even see work yet? All I know is that it sure seems weird to me, for instance, to almost always require the A/C compressor to be running all of the time. I think I understand from my readings why they do that but is that good? Are there other car makers that do that or is Jaguar the only one?

Just curious and wondering.

Old 12-09-2021, 10:50 PM
Veteran Member
Received 672 Likes on 421 Posts

Look at this thread, towards the end. He's doing just that. It's not for the faint of heart.
https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...-world-244431/

Neither the Mk II or the later (around 87 and up) Mk III Delanair systems are that difficult to understand. The MkII is mostly electromechanical, and the MkIII is processor controlled. Factory information and user contributed information on how to diagnose and repair them is available. They don't seem to be much worse than other automatic systems of the period.

Old 12-09-2021, 11:13 PM

Wow, that is quite and undertaking to get that aftermarket unit in for sure!