XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

headliner questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2021, 08:20 AM
Received 49 Likes on 24 Posts
Default headliner questions

So now that i have the mechanicals pretty well sorted I am turning attentions towards a few minor electrical projects and then cosmetic ones. I want to do the carpet, and headliner first when i get started on the inside. Carpet seems pretty straight forward but this headliner makes my brain itch a little. Now im no expert at these things but any headliner i've ever worked on had a backer board of some kind that it glued to. Is that the case here? Because if it is that is where I need to start, as mine is gone. If there is a backer board of some kind thats suppose to be there can someone give me a link to where i might buy one in the US. I did some googling and I found a couple places that sell something like that but none that sell one that accommodates a sunroof. Also a thought i've been having - is this backer board that at this point I am assuming is missing, something that I could make myself perhaps from material found in a local hardware store? I found plenty of places where I can buy the foam backed headliner material so that parts easy. This backerboard though if there is one, is a mystery. I haven't spent much time looking at the roof yet but im not even sure how such a thing would attach. Any information would be helpful

Old 11-26-2021, 09:24 AM
Received 322 Likes on 228 Posts

If I read you correctly you don't have anything on the roof right now. Just metal.

Yes, there is a headliner board with fabric material attached to it. Yes, they all deteriorate over time and the material falls down.
The headliner board is made of some kind crap material that is prone to falling apart making things even harder.
No, you can't buy a replacement. (unless something has changed in the last several years) No one makes a replacement. At least in the US.